Pride Mental Health's

Certified Support Services

Certified Peer Support (CPS) and Certified Family Support (CFS) Services assist individuals through non-authoritative (peer to peer) role modeling, support, and coaching, using evidence-based, peer-centered, empowerment tools. These Support Services are available to individuals/families who struggle with a severe and persistent mental illness or emotional disturbance who are actively involved in mental health treatment. Pride Mental Health Certified Support Services promote unconditional hope, wellness, and recovery outcomes for individuals as well as their natural support system.


Who Qualifies for Each Support Service?

Peer Support - Adults 18+

Certified Family Support - Children (under 18) and Their Families.

Certified Support Services assist individuals and families by providing life-experience as well as positive and reinforcing examples to help guide through life's tough decisions, and are an extension of your therapy. Ask your counselor for more details, and discuss together to decide if any of the Certified Support Services we offer are appropriate for you and/or your family. This decision should always be made between you and your counselor. 

For more information on Pride's Certified Support Services, feel free to call us at


Extended (Additional/Community) Services, such as a Certified Support Service, Case Management, or CBRS should always be a decision made between you and your counselor.

Pride Mental Health's Newest Service

Certified Youth Support Services

We are pleased to announce that we now offer  Certified Youth Support Services for all youth, ages 8 - 18. CYS is another service deriving from the 'Peer' approach rather than an authoritative approach. The Certified Support Services that we offer carry the same purpose, philosophy, and encouragement throughout each of them; fundamentally rooted in compassion, understanding, and acceptance.

This brand new community support program reflects the values, philosophies, intentions, and connectivity as both Idaho's newly adopted YES (Youth Empowerment Services) Program as well as the Certified Peer Support (CPS) and Certified Family Support (CFS) services. Each of these three services offer a Non-Authoritative approach.

Individuals in Certified Support Services work as peers, rather than authoritative mental health professionals. Here is what Idaho Health & Welfare describes Certified Peer Support Services as...   

 "Certified Peer Support Specialists (CPSSs) are critical in the Idaho mental health service system. These individuals have experienced a mental illness and recovery, and are well positioned to support others who are seeking recovery. Peers offer hope and encouragement by sharing their experiences and knowledge. They create opportunities for recovering individuals to live satisfying and meaningful lives.   

Certified Peer Support Specialists provide hope for individuals, families, and communities recovering from mental illness by offering Connections to a community of peers, Encouragement and understanding, Information on accessing resource, and Support through recovery"  

 A Certified Peer's responsibility is to relate and support, not instruct. Certified Peers have been evaluated for eligibility to become certified by providing his or her own experiences with persistent mental health challenges and, more importantly, must be able to demonstrate how he or she has overcome and/or learned to manage these mental health challenges. Please click here for more information about Certified Support Services that we proudly offer. 

For additional information, click on the link below to be redirected to Optum's 'Frequently Asked Questions' page regarding YES programs.